Hokusai-A-Life-in-Drawings-cover
Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Hokusai-A-Life-in-Drawings-cover
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Charger l'image dans la galerie, Hokusai : une vie en dessins

Hokusai : une vie en dessins

Prix régulier €35,00

Prix unitaire par 

Seulement 0 restant

Katsushika Hokusai (1760-1849) était l'artiste le plus prolifique et le plus diversifié de la période Edo au Japon, avec un corpus d'œuvres réputé pour inclure plus de 30 000 dessins, peintures et gravures. Ce livre retrace le parcours de cet enfant d'un quartier populaire du vieux Tokyo, alors connu sous le nom d'Edo, évoquant l'atmosphère particulière de cette grande ville et de la vie japonaise, lorsque le Japon - fermé aux étrangers - développa dans le vide un projet puissamment original. culture. Ses centres urbains ont connu une richesse et une stabilité croissantes, conduisant à une culture florissante de l'art et de la recherche du plaisir. Gravures sur bois du genre connu sous le nom ukiyo-e – « images du monde flottant » – sont devenues des images déterminantes de l'époque.

Hokusai est devenu l'un des grands maîtres de la gravure sur bois, ce « pinceau devenu sauvage », comme il s'appelait lui-même, redécouvert par les impressionnistes et les esthètes à la fin du XIXe siècle. Ses œuvres vont des portraits d'acteurs et de courtisanes populaires aux paysages et aux marines, y compris ses célèbres « Trente-six vues du mont Fuji », et des scènes de la vie quotidienne savamment observées aux estampes érotiques connues sous le nom de c'est ça. Alors que ses estampes ont eu une énorme influence sur le cours de l'art occidental, il est également vrai qu'il a lui-même été influencé par la peinture européenne, embrassant des techniques telles que la perspective et les adaptant aux goûts japonais. Il reste l'un des plus grands et – grâce à sa personnalité – l'une des figures les plus séduisantes de l'art mondial.

Titre: Hokusai : une vie en dessins
Contraignant: Couverture rigide avec toile imprimée (sans jaquette)
Langue: Anglais 
Total de pages : 224
Taille: 160x226mm

Customer Reviews

Based on 3 reviews
100%
(3)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
S
Samuel Wright
Stunning book

Beautiful satin cover. Pages are all double folded so only one side is printed on yet there arent blank pages, never seen that before, super cool. Wonderful photo reference and great text. A fantastic addition to the home library.

S
Steve Armstrong
Hokusai: A Life in Drawings

I love my copy of Hokusai: A Life in Drawings. It is everything I wanted at a reasonable price. Anyone who is familiar with his work should be delighted to own this masterpiece! Kudos to Kintaro Publishing!

J
Jeff Perry
Great Book

Received the book shortly after ordering and it is an amazing book. Great pictures

Fermer (esc)

Vacances d'été

Nous sommes absents du bureau en raison des vacances d'été du 19 juillet au 2 août // Date limite de commande vendredi 16 juillet, 13h00, heure d'Europe centrale // Veuillez noter que les commandes seront traitées à notre retour.

Verification de l'AGE

En cliquant sur Entrée, vous vérifiez que vous êtes en âge de consommer de l'alcool.

Recherche

Panier

Votre panier est vide.
Boutique

Hokusai-A-Life-in-Drawings-cover
Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Load image into Gallery viewer, Hokusai-A-Life-in-Drawings-cover
Load image into Gallery viewer, Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Load image into Gallery viewer, Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Load image into Gallery viewer, Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Load image into Gallery viewer, Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Load image into Gallery viewer, Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Load image into Gallery viewer, Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Load image into Gallery viewer, Hokusai: A Life in Drawings

Hokusai: A Life in Drawings

Regular price €35,00

Unit price per 

only 0 left in stock

Katsushika Hokusai (1760–1849) was the most prolific and diverse artist of Japan’s Edo period, with a body of work reputed to include more than 30,000 drawings, paintings and prints. This book traces the career of this child from a working-class district of old Tokyo, then known as Edo, evoking the special atmosphere of this great city and of Japanese life, when Japan – closed to foreigners – developed in a vacuum a powerfully original culture. Its urban centres enjoyed increasing wealth and stability, leading to a flourishing culture of art and pleasure-seeking. Woodblock prints of the genre known as ukiyo-e – ‘images of the floating world’ – became defining images of the age.

Hokusai became one of the great masters of the woodcut, this ‘brush gone wild’, as he called himself, being rediscovered by the Impressionists and aesthetes at the end of the nineteenth century. His works range from portraits of popular actors and courtesans to landscapes and seascapes, including his celebrated 'Thirty-Six Views of Mount Fuji', and from cleverly observed scenes of everyday life to the erotic prints known as shunga. While his prints had a huge influence on the course of Western art, it is equally true that he himself was influenced by European painting, embracing techniques such as perspective and adapting them to suit Japanese tastes. He remains one of the greatest and – thanks to his personality – one of the most attractive figures of world art.

Title: Hokusai: A Life in Drawings
Binding: Hardcover  with printed cloth (without jacket)
Language: English 
Page-total: 224
Size: 160 x 226 mm

Customer Reviews

Based on 3 reviews
100%
(3)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
S
Samuel Wright
Stunning book

Beautiful satin cover. Pages are all double folded so only one side is printed on yet there arent blank pages, never seen that before, super cool. Wonderful photo reference and great text. A fantastic addition to the home library.

S
Steve Armstrong
Hokusai: A Life in Drawings

I love my copy of Hokusai: A Life in Drawings. It is everything I wanted at a reasonable price. Anyone who is familiar with his work should be delighted to own this masterpiece! Kudos to Kintaro Publishing!

J
Jeff Perry
Great Book

Received the book shortly after ordering and it is an amazing book. Great pictures

Close (esc)

Summer Holiday

We are out of the office due to Summer Holiday from July 19 until August 2 // Order deadline Friday, July 16, 13:00 Central European Time // Please note that orders will be processed upon our return.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now